Leadership Summit 2008 | BILL HYBELS: Relentless

SESSION 9. Summit Page.

I’ve studied many leaders, but none of them have impressed me more than the study I’ve done on Mother Teresa. Cf. 2 Chronicles 16:9 For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.

Very early on in her life she made some powerful vows:

1) To give God absolutely anything He might ask for; to refuse Him nothing.
2) If God imparts Himself fully to us, shall we answer with just a fraction of ourselves? How could we?
3) To do His bidding without delay.
4) Little practices, and little sacrifices. The little fidelities.

Are you the kind of person that is lighting up the radar screen in the Heavens, right now, by your “yieldedness?”

If you were God for a day, would you pick you for your work?

I believe God could tap you on the shoulder. I believe in a God that still rocks the world. I’m just getting a little worried how the average Christ-follower responds to these urgings.

What do you do when God taps you on the shoulder?

On the balance between God’s Assignment and the other side of the scales with money, ego, comfort, etc., which way do you tip?

Would I lay down my life to carry out this vision?

So how long is it going to take before I can carry on the calling of God? According to my study of Mother Teresa and of the Scriptures…as long as it takes. Outlast the waiting. Callings are precious commodities, they are holy things. Sometimes you only get one in a lifetime, and getting them right is of the utmost importance.

Mother Teresa made herself into a phenomenal leader. Don’t say you can’t. How bad do you want it?

“Even though I do not feel His presence, I will seek to love Him as He has never been loved before.” – Mother Teresa.

About Via

www.kevinneuner.com

4 comments

  1. Melissa

    Hi–I was volunteering at a satellite site for the summit and was moving in and out of the room as Bill Hybels was talking about the little practices, the little sacrifices, little fidelities, etc. Do you know where I can read more about these vows? I would really like to know what they consisted of; I know that B. Hybels went over it, but I missed almost all of it because I was out of earshot for so lont.

  2. VIA

    I know there are several biographies out on Mother Teresa, though I’m not sure if Hybels referenced any one in particular. One of the most recent have been “Come Be My Light.” There’s also the autobiography, “Mother Teresa: In My Own Words.”

  3. Brian W

    Thanks for blogging about the conference. It was quite helpful to have your notes as well as my own in reflecting/processing all that happened.

  4. cde

    Jane 1:5 If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of Mother Teresa who gives to all men liberally……
    Please pardon such a misuse of the Holy Word of God, the awesome Creator of heaven and earth. “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.” Proverbs 9:10 Jeremiah said to his people, “How can you say, ‘We are wise, and the law of the LORD is with us?’ Look, the false pen of the scribe certainly works falsehood. The wise men are ashamed, they are dismayed and taken. Behold, they have rejected the word of the LORD; so what wisdom do they have?” (chapter 8:8-9) Almighty God offers the best. Why settle for less?

Leave a comment