Global Leadership Summit | Craig Groeschel – The Strongest Link

Posted on August 10, 2012


(live blogging)

Bridging the generation gap.

I would not be here today had it not been for the people that went before me.

I felt called to give my life, but nobody was calling.

I want to talk to the older generation, and then talk to the younger generation.

OLDER. Now, some of you may be asking, “How do I know if I’m in the older generation?” If you have to ask…

My advice to you is fairly simple. Don’t resent fear or judge the next generation. Believe in them.

God also values maturity. If you’re not dead, you’re not done. Your best days are before you.

You do not just delegate tasks to the next generation. If you do that, you’ll only create followers. Instead, we delegate authority, because then we create leaders.

Authenticity trumps cool, every single time.

YOUNGER. You need those who have gone before you more than you can imagine.

The number one word that describes you is “entitled,” overestimating what you can do in the short term, but underestimate what you can do in the long.

Respect is earned. Honor is given. And people become who they are because they are honored.


For the generations to work together, it must be intentional.

Intentionally create feedback loops. Get feedback from your core constituents to ensure that things are working well, or where to fix what is not working well.

Create specific mentoring moments.

Don’t copy what they do. Learn how they think.

Create opportunities for specific leadership development.

COUPLE THOUGHTS. To those who went before me, I honor you with all my heart.

If you will humble yourselves, honor those who went before you, you will do amazing things.