Zion & Babylon

Posted on December 30, 2011


Abraham Joshua Heschel wrote, “The Greeks learned in order to comprehend. The Hebrews learned in order to revere. The modern man learns in order to use.” (God in Search of Man, 34)

My blog is really not for blogging, but more for study, and many posts are in the Greek vein. This post is in the Hebrew vein with a prophetic nod to the modern.

Thanks to my wife for starting our date night out with this song, and to Josh Garrels for his intimate concert at Vintage Faith a few weeks back.

Oh great mammon of form and function | Careless consumerist consumption
Dangerous dysfunction disguised as expensive taste

I’m a people disgraced by what I claim I need | And what I want to waste
I take no account for nothing if it’s not mine

It’s a misappropriation of funds | Protect my ninety percent with my guns
Whose side am I on? Well, who’s winning?

My kingdom’s built with the blood of slaves | Orphans, widows, and homeless graves
I sold their souls just to build my private mansion

Some people say that my time is coming | Kingdom come is the justice running
Down, down, down on me

‘Cause I’m a poor child, I’m a lost son | I refuse to give my love to anyone
Fight for the truth, or help the weaker ones
Because I love my Babylon

I am a slave, I was never free | I betrayed you for blood money
Oh I bought the world, all is vanity
When, oh my Lord I’m your enemy

Come to me, and find your life
Children sing, Zion’s in sight

I said don’t trade your name for a serial number
Priceless lives were born from under graves where I found you

Say, my name ain’t yours and yours is not mine | Mine is the Lord, and yours is my child
That’s how it’s always been

Now it’s time to make a change | Leave your homes, give to the poor all that you own
Lose your life, so that you could find it

First to be last when the true world comes | Livin’ like a humble fool to overcome
This upside-down wisdom of a dying world

Zion’s not built with hands and in this place God will dwell with man
Sick be healed and cripples stand
Sing Hallelu

My kingdom’s built with the blood of my son | Selfless sacrifice for everyone
Faith, hope, love, and harmony

I said let this world know me by your love
By your love

Oh my child, daughters and sons | I made you in love to overcome
Free as a bird, my flowers in the sun
On your way to Mount Zion

All you slaves, be set free
Come on out child and come on home to me

We will dance, we will rejoice
If you can hear me then follow my voice

Posted in: Culture, Life