President-Elect Obama on 60 Minutes

Posted on December 13, 2008


Here is the video.

November 16, 2008

November 16, 2008

Not only was the interview well done, I was thankful for Obama’s tone and sober attitude toward the work ahead. I appreciated the following…

  • Regarding the auto industry and fuel prices, “we go from ‘shock’ to ‘trance.’ We must break the addiction.”
  • He reads. He reads past, and present. May this inspire many others to engage in this discipline.
  • “I’m not sure that the American people are looking for a lot of speeches. They’re looking for action, and an explanation what you’re doing and why. I want to recreate a trust and bond between the president and the public that has been lost.”
  • “This election was not special, just for African-Americans. There may have been a lot of reasons why someone did or did not vote for me, but they did so based on whether or not I’m the most qualified candidate or not.”
  • I appreciated that Michelle and Barack appears to be very much like an every day “average” American couple, especially during the segment discussing the humble Washington apartment and Barack’s first interview with Steve Kroft.
  • “The loss of anonymity. It’s not a complaint, it’s something you sign up for. But the small routines of life, some of them are being lost. How do we stay pretty ‘normal?’ “

And my favorite line:

  • Look, I don’t tell my mother-in-law what to do. I’m not stupid. That’s how I got elected Presidant, man.