Leadership Summit 2008 | GARY HAUGEN: Just Courage – Charging the Darkness

Posted on August 7, 2008

1


SESSION 2. Summit Page. International Justice Mission.

“There are leaders who were able to bring about justice, and to do it without war. Their leadership mattered. I think that we want our leadership that actually matters; to God, and to God’s people.”

“Leadership that matters to God is leadership in endeavors, activities, and priorities that matter to God. Just because I’m leading, and just because people are following…just because I’m fascinated by something, doesn’t mean that God is.”

ARE JESUS AND I REALLY INTERESTED IN THE SAME THINGS? What is God truly passionate about?

1. God is passionate for the world.
2. God is passionate for justice.

What is God’s plan for making it believable that God really is God? Well, it’s simple. We are the plan. And, God doesn’t have another plan.

When “injustice” means everything, it means nothing. And we as Americans have been trained to feel like we’re victims of injustice every day.

“Injustice in the Bible is a particular type of sin. It’s an abuse of power, to take from other people what God intended for them – their life, their liberty, their dignity, the fruit of their labors.” (Cf. Ecclesiastes 4:1)

SO WHAT DOES JUSTICE LOOK LIKE IN OUR WORLD TODAY?

IF GOD IS SO PASSIONATE ABOUT JUSTICE, WHY ISN’T GOD DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT?

Micah 6:8; Isaiah 1:17; Psalm 11

“If you want your leadership to matter, lead in the things that matter to God. And if you say to God, ‘Justice just isn’t my thing,’ maybe God is saying to you, ‘then maybe I’m not your thing.'”

HOW DO WE LEAD WHEN THE TASK SEEMS HOPELESS? We lead by re-centering the basis of our hope. In the story of the feeding of the 5,000, notice Jesus didn’t ask them what they needed, He asked them what they had. We need to remind our people that the work is God’s. He has simply asked us to give what we have.

HOW DO WE LEAD WHEN THE TASK SEEMS SCARY? Jesus did not come to make us safe. Jesus came to make us brave. If my life of following Jesus doesn’t feel dangerous, then maybe I’ve got to check to see if it’s Jesus I’m following. I have been praying to be liberated from safe bets. We want to avoid having been “on the trip” but having “missed the adventure.” Our Heavenly Father offers us a simple proposition: Follow me beyond what you can control, and you will experience me, and my power, and my wisdom, and my love. Jesus beckons us to return to the vulnerability of a child. Does this mean I must abandon what I do well? No. He simply wants us to take those strengths on a more demanding climb.

HOW DO WE LEAD WHEN THE TASK SEEMS REALLY HARD? Effective leadership comes from four choices 1) choosing not to be safe, 2) choosing to seek deep spiritual health 3) choosing to pursue excellence, and 4) choosing to seize the joy.

“Is our devotional life largely a list of things that I do, so that they can be over?”
“As Dallas Willard has noted, the first thing to disappear when spiritual health declines, is laughter.”
“Something is wrong when Jesus’ yoke is light, and mine is heavy.”

VIA:

Those last few lines are great nuggets to take away. And, as I have been listening to Gary for several years now, and supporting IJM, I pray that his time at the Summit would bear fruit in the hearts of the leaders here. I thank the WCA for including this session.

