MOST the Movie – Responses From The Children

Posted on June 8, 2008


On April 30, 2008, I posted this on the movie MOST. A volunteer in my ministry asked a few of her students (elementary age), and here are their responses that are somewhat fascinating.

1. What did you think about the movie?

  • It was good but he should have saved his son instead.
  • I think this movie was sad because that man let his son die.
  • It was very strange.
  • It was not a fun movie to watch – it was sad.
  • That man should not have never left his son.
  • I think that the dad was being dumb, not responsible and stupid.
  • I thought it was sad.

2. What would you have done differently?

  • I would have saved my son and let the people on the train die.
  • I would have ran and got my son because I would not have let my son die.
  • I would have done the same.
  • I would not have taken my son to work.
  • I would have died with him.
  • I would have never left the kid alone; it had them die and I need to protect my kid.
  • I would have cried and let the people die.

3. What does it mean to be true hero?

  • Saving People.
  • What it means to be a hero is by helping someone and saving people’s lives.
  • Think for others.
  • I don’t know.
  • Hero’s do not only save people they have someone to talk to in order to express their feelings.
  • I don’t know.
  • I don’t know.

4. Would you recommend this film to anyone?

  • Yes. Because it was really good.
  • I would not recommend this movie to anyone because it is to sad to watch and that man was stupid for not letting his son live.
  • Yes because you are going to like it.
  • No.
  • Yes I would recommend this film to prisoners because lots of them have kids especially for the people doing life. That is who I would recommend it to.
  • No. Because the dad was stupid.
  • Yes.


So what does this tell you about the human condition and the message of the sacrifice of Christ in light of that condition? Would most of us also answer towards self/family-preservation? And then, if this is the way in which to live, according to the message of Christ, and so few of us are willing to live this way, what does that really tell us about heroism? Wouldn’t most of us now answer “I don’t know” when it comes to the “hero” question?

Posted in: Culture, Religion